College of Engineering to Honor Alumni

Awards banquet recognizes accomplishments of past graduates

Tuesday, April 17, 2012
Ron Morris, Hall of Fame medal recipient

Ron Morris, Hall of Fame medal recipient

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The University of Arkansas College of Engineering will honor 18 alumni with College of Engineering Alumni Awards at its annual banquet on Saturday, April 21. The awards recognize graduates of the college who have demonstrated exceptional professional and personal accomplishments and made important contributions to their professions and communities.

The College of Engineering’s 2012 Alumni Awards banquet will be at the John Q. Hammons Convention Center in Rogers.

“Our alumni are one of our college’s biggest strengths and their accomplishments speak directly to the quality of our academic program,” said Ashok Saxena, dean. “We are proud of all our alumni but this group is a sample of our very best.”

Ron Morris, who received a Bachelor of Science in Industrial Engineering in 1958, will be awarded the Hall of Fame medal, the highest honor bestowed by the College of Engineering. The Hall of Fame Award was established in 1965 to recognize prominent graduates and leaders who have made outstanding contributions to the engineering profession and to society as a whole. Morris recently retired as the president and chief executive officer of Lyons Manufacturing Inc. in Dallas, Texas. He and his wife support University of Arkansas students through a number of scholarship programs.

The Distinguished Alumni Award honors College of Engineering graduates who have provided leadership in their communities and achieved distinction in their fields of endeavor. The recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Award are:

  • Sherman Black, B.S.E.E. 1987 — President and CEO, Rimage Corp., Eden Prairie, Minn.
  • Kim Clower, B.S. 1983, M.S.C.S. 1987 — Vice president of business operations, security and infrastructure, Hewlett-Packard, Austin, Texas
  • Steve Cousins, B.S.Ch.E. 1978 — Vice president of governmental affairs, Lion Oil, El Dorado, Ark.
  • Rex Eads, B.S.C.S. 1987 — Rex Eads Consulting,Vancouver, Wash.
  • Mac Hogan, B.S.M.E. 1965 — Owner and chairman, Poloplaz Inc. and Air Tech Coatings Inc. North Little Rock, Ark.
  • Carl Imhoff, B.S.I.E. 1978 — Manager, electric infrastructure market sector, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, Wash.
  • Jim McClelland, B.S.C.E. 1967 — Chairman emeritus, McClelland Engineers Inc., Little Rock, Ark.
  • Jerry Rogers, B.S.C.E., 1963; M.S.C.E. 1964 — Associate professor of civil and environmental engineering, University of Houston, Houston, Texas
  • Bruce Westerman, B.S.B.E., 1990 — Mid-South Engineering, Hot Springs, Ark.

The Outstanding Young Alumni Award recognizes exceptional professional and personal achievements of College of Engineering graduates who are 40 years of age and under. The 2012 recipients are:

  • Raegon Barnes, B.S.Ch.E., 1999 — Director, category development team, Hershey’s, Bentonville, Ark.
  • Heath Bebout, B.S.E.E., 1995; M.S.E.E. 1997 — Department Manager for Simulation and Analysis, Northrop Grumman Electronic Systems, Baltimore, Md.
  • Meagan Berlau, B.S.C.E. 2008 — Assistant structural engineer, Burns and McDonnell, Kansas City, Mo.
  • Anthony Doss, B.S.B.E. 1996 — Director of process and design engineering, Tyson Foods, Springdale, Ark.
  • Thomas Duncan, B.S.I.E. 2005 — Investment banking associate, Wells Fargo Securities, Charlotte, N.C.
  • Stephan Durham B.S.C.E., 2001; MSCE 2003; Ph.D. 2005 — Associate professor of civil engineering, University of Georgia, Athens, Ga.
  • Tyler Gipson, B.S.B.E., 2004 — Hydraulic engineer, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Tulsa, Okla.
  • Tea Williams, B.S.E.E., 2002; M.S.E.E., 2004 — IC design engineer, Texas Instruments, Dallas, Texas


Kellie Knight, senior director of development
College of Engineering

Camilla Shumaker, director of communications
College of Engineering

Related Links

News by Keyword